Feature Writer….Jase Rosenburg!!


Hello Readers!

Today, I would like to introduce Jase Rosenburg! **applauds**  Jase is a resurrected writer with a HUGE passion for words!  When I read his blog, I am filled with so much emotion and inspiration.  He is genuine, has a great personality, and is a joy to talk to.  I am honored to have him featured on my blog !

Ok, here is my interview with the fabulous Jase Rosenburg!! **CHEERS**

1.  If you don’t mind, tell us a little bit about yourself?  Interests?

I’ve been married 15 years and I just adopted 3 kids ages Tanner age 13, Hannah age 11 and Lela age 10. My interests are writing of course, researching family history and reading!

2.  When did you discover that you wanted to be a writer?

Apparently I had it in mind from a young age. My mother tells me I used to walk around with pen and paper as a young kid. I always loved writing in school. When we would walk into the classroom and the teacher had a “Theme” we had to write about I LOVED it! When I was in middle school I tried to write plays that my sister and I would act out.  In high school I really began to take interest in it even more. I had made plans to go into journalism in college. I stuck with those plans and started out majoring in journalism and working at a local newspaper. I dropped out of college, got a job at a factory and got married. I let the dream die.

3.  What type of books do you read? Who is your favorite author?

I like many types of books. I’m really into reading some crime drama right now. I LOVE Ted Dekker and most of his books. They keep me turning the page. I also have to throw a mention in here to a fellow indie writer, Kirkus Macgowan and his book, “The Fall of Billy Hitchings”. It was an amazing read and I’m looking forward to more of his books! My all time favorite author is C.S. Lewis! The Chronicles of Narnia are my absolute favorite!

4.  You are a “resurrected” writer.  How did you find your way back into the world of writing?

This is really kind of cheesy.As I mentioned earlier I let my dream die, well I was laid off from work in 2008. I’ve had one temp job since then, but it only lasted about a year. I was feeling old and starting to have a mini meltdown. I had a friend who told me I should start writing again to get my feelings out. I went back into it hesitantly. I didn’t want anyone to see what I wrote. I was afraid it wasn’t any good. I still struggle with that! To get myself past that, I’ve started blogging three times per week. I participated in NaNoWriMo for the first time last year and I LOVED it! I never thought I would be able to write 50,000 words, but I surprised myself and did it in 26 days!

5.  What do you like to write?

Well, this is a tough question. Right now I’ve been writing a lot of flash fiction and short stories. As far as genre goes, I’m still searching for my niche. I love to write sad things that pull at your heart-strings. I also enjoy writing inspirational stuff. I would call it general fiction. My NaNo novel was about a mentally challenged man and his life struggles, it’s really pretty sad! I’m editing it now. After I finish this up I’m going to start planning my first “real” novel.

6.  Tell us a little about your blog and what you hope to achieve with it.

My blog is an extension of me. If people want to know about me all they have to do is read my blog. It’s a hodge podge of stuff for sure. I get on my soap box at times! I have also shared some things I have written, and I plan on doing more of that in the future. I share a little about my life, memories and general “stuff”. As far as what do I hope to achieve? I want people to get to know me. I figure there’s no better way than to put who I am out there for everyone to see, warts and all!

7.  What advice do you have for other aspiring writers?

Oh wow, hard question!  I would say build a base of supporters around you. Twitter is excellent for that! I have met so many amazing writers on there. I was really surprised at how helpful and supportive everyone is. The more you put yourself out there, the more people will get to know you, and hopefully as you grow and begin to publish, you’ll have people who help you put the word out! Networking at it’s finest! More importantly the friends you make are invaluable!

8.  Do you need anything special before you sit down to write?

I don’t do anything special that I can think of, but most of the time I don’t think about what I’m doing. I’ll have to be more observant of myself!

9.  How do you keep your focus?

I like to write early in the morning, before everyone gets up. That helps with the focus! But the main thing I do is go to the bedroom at night, turn out the light and sit there with my laptop and write. With the light out and the screen glowing in my face I can’t focus on anything else. Nothing distracts me, and I can zone in.

10.  If you could describe yourself in one word, what would it be and why?

Hmmmmm…I’m never good at these questions. I would say “different”, maybe? I’ve always been different. I’ve never fit into anyone’s mold. That left me out of a lot of circles, but I’m proud of the fact that I’m “different”!

Isn’t he great?  You can find my good friend (and his wonderful blog) at www.jaser75.blogspot.com!!

I would like to personally thank Jase for working with me on this interview!  I’m thankful to have connected with him.   Sooooo….THANK YOU JASE!!!

**Happy Writing**

Leave a Reply

