If I Knew Then…What I Know Now!


Happy Friday readers!

Today begins my series of blog postings that I will be doing entitled, “If I Knew Then…What I Know Now”.  Basically, I will be writing about things that I really looked forward to when I was little vs. the reality of actually being a part of it in my adult years.  Enjoy!

I remember as a child when being an ‘adult’ seemed really cool.  Adults were able to drive, make money they could spend on the ‘finer’ things, and they were able to make their own choices without having a second party involved as the deciding factor.  More importantly, they had a certain freedom that I could not begin to fathom.

I can distinctly remember sitting in my grandmother’s windowsill while watching the cars pass outside.  Ah, in my mind I would be the proud of owner of over half of what I saw drive by!  However, at the innocent age of eleven, I had no idea what it took to own a vehicle.  Wow.  This was my theory: buy a car and drive it until it was time to get a new one (no strings attached, right?).  Yeah right!  When I was eighteen, I finally got my very own car!  **WOO HOO** With that green beauty came a two hundred and fifty dollar monthly insurance payment, weekly trips to the gas station, and of course, quite a few parts along the way.  I luckily did not have a payment on it because the “green goblin” (yes, I nicknamed it) exhausted my bi-weekly, minimum wage paycheck in a hurry.  It was depressing, even more so when it was totaled after owning it for one year.  After the loss of the ‘green goblin’, I became the proud owner of a car payment, amongst the other expenses that I had to carry.  Nine years later, I have a bigger car payment, higher personal property taxes, a 10 year 100,000 mile warranty, and lower insurance.  Hmm, doesn’t look like I have wised up very much.    I quickly found out that driving wasn’t what it was all cracked up to be!

If I knew then, what I know now…city transit doesn’t sound all that bad (much cheaper too)! 🙂

***Have a great day!***

 

Leave a Reply

