Reflections on 2011…


It’s here…2012!  I can’t believe how quickly a year goes by.  As I reflect on ‘last’ year, I can honestly say that it was a worthwhile challenge.  On January 24, 2011 I began my employment at NEFCU; it is ‘hands down’ the best job I have ever had.  I am so blessed to have wonderful co-workers who are absolutely amazing people!

Secondly, I have been an ‘on again off again’ writer for several years.  The passion has always been a part of me, but I have let everything get in the way of it.  I have allowed myself to become so discouraged and broken, that I would eventually give up and attempt to move on from it.  That was such a devastating feeling for me.  Ever since I was little writing has been an escape for me.   Throughout my childhood, I was generally the subject of every peer’s jokes.  It made for a very dreadful, schooling experience!  I felt so lost that I began to write little stories that would put me into different scenarios.  Happy places.  In 11th grade I was able to take a creative writing class that I absolutely loved!  That was when I really knew that I wanted to write, not only for myself, but for others as well.  However, my plans were derailed after graduation.  I’m not sure if it is where I decided to do things completely backwards (immediately go into the workforce, fail, and FINALLY go to college) or just sheer laziness? Lol.  I believe I will go with the first option.  Finally, at some point last year, I decided that I was going to do it!  Write…write…write.  I created this blog, wrote several postings, and guess what? I gave up again.  Ugh! I was so irritated!  That dry spell actually lasted about two months.  My shining month was November.  I finally submitted a piece of my nostalgic writing to a local newspaper, the next day they let me know that it would be published in December.  It was a start and I was ecstatic!

The latter part of 2011 was definitely an awesome experience.  I have met so many wonderful, encouraging writers through Twitter!  Six Sentence Sunday has been a real treat also.  It allows me to get my current WIP out there for some very motivating feedback!  So…here is a HUGE thank you to everyone for the support! 🙂  Oh, and just last week, I posted my first flash fiction, Broken Desire!  *Woo hoo*

My goals for 2012 are as follows…

-I just signed up for A Round of Words in 80 Days, which begins on Jan 2nd!  I have set my writing goals for the term and am dead set on accomplishing them! 🙂

-My current WIP (short story), What Matters Most, will hopefully be completed this month.

-I am going to post at least two blogs a week to begin with (hopefully this will increase as the year progresses).  When I figure out a good schedule, I will let everyone know what days I will be posting!

-This one is my favorite.  I intend on living each day to the fullest.  We all have goals, dreams, ambitions, etc.  However, I personally spend too much time trying to anticipate the end result of everything I try to accomplish.  The anxiety ruins it for me.  So, from here on out I will strive to be grateful for every opportunity I am given, no matter if I see it through or  not.

Here is to a very successful, prosperous New Year!!!!  Cheers to my fellow writers, family, friends, readers, and anyone else who has that one very special dream!!  If you have a passion, go for it!  It is never too late…

***HAPPY NEW YEAR 2012***

2 thoughts on “Reflections on 2011…

  1. I think you are awesome! A lot of what you wrote resonates with me (the on-again, off-again writing; meeting wonderful, supportive writers this past year). Best of luck in 2012!

    • Thank you so much! You are such a sweet person! I always look forward to hearing from you. I’m so glad to have such great support from wonderful writers. I really enjoy your work…look forward to every new post! Best of luck to you as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

