Six Sentence Sunday #6


Happy Sunday to all!

I can hardly believe that Christmas is only one week away!  Of course, I do not have my shopping completed yet.  Once again, my blogging for this week has been put on hold due to the continued chaos I have been facing.  Frankly, I will be thankful to see this holiday come to an end.  Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy the festivities and much needed time with family; but, the pressure of buying that ‘one’ perfect gift for everyone drives me insane.  Oh well, I apologize for sounding like a scrooge!  I suppose it is time for me to get on with this week’s six.

Last week left off with the protagonist, Gigi, arriving at Cartwright’s Cozy Corner!  (Oh,  how I would love to stay at a quaint little bed & breakfast such as this one)

The warmth of her words instantly had me wrapped.  It was so nice to feel welcomed, especially since the last few weeks of my life have been all but comforting.  “Thank you so much.  I am quite exhausted from my drive and running on very little sleep.”  After unloading a couple of bags from the car, I proceeded in her direction.

Her eyes focused solely on me, but her smile remained unchanged.

Another one down with many more to go (hopefully)! 🙂  Thank you for stopping by to check out my six. It is always a pleasure!  Until next time…

For other wonderful reads, please check out the amazing writers at www.sixsunday.com!!

22 thoughts on “Six Sentence Sunday #6

  1. I agree with Alix. I like how smoothly the pov comes through and the interest in the characters and plot is instant. Nice work Kristin and good luck with the Xmas shopping. I’ve got one more gift to find, too. 😉 p.s. I’m going to read your last week’s six which I somehow missed.

    • Thank you Ryan! I value the input and really appreciate you stopping by!! As for the shopping, I need all of the luck I can get (lol). My motivation is found through encouraging words! 🙂 Have a wonderful day!!!

  2. I’m really enjoying your snippets, Kristin. The first line, “The warmth of her words instantly had me wrapped.” made me wonder, at first, if you meant ‘rapt’ (entranced, wholly absorbed), but then I thought, ‘wrapped’ is so much better, because the warmth of her voice wraps around her and makes her feel warmly welcomed. I really like this. Great work and great six! I hope you get a minute this next week to actually enjoy the season, instead of working and worrying! See you next year (LOL!)

    • Thank you very much KE!! I wanted Mrs. Cartwright to have a humble, welcoming approach. She is more like a ‘grandmother’ figure. Thank you for checking out my six. I really appreciate the feedback! This week will be filled with some much needed down time so I can finish my last minute preparations. Friday is a short day at work and I don’t have to be back in office until Wednesday the 28th! I hope that you have a wonderful Christmas and look forward to seeing you next year! 🙂

  3. Nice six, Kristen. Love words that had me wrapped.
    I hope you get a moment to relax and enjoy the holiday season. If it makes you feel any better, I really haven’t even started my shopping. I am woefully unprepared!

    • Hello Carly and thank you for stopping by! Thank you so much for the positive feedback! I intend of making the most of this week so I can enjoy what is left of the holidays! Oh no…I hope you get your shopping done! Looks like you and I both have quite a bit of shopping left to do! Have a great holiday!!! 🙂

  4. It is nice to feel welcomed after a hard week. I hope you get your shopping done and don’t worry about the “perfect gift”. Any gift is perfect because of the thought behind it. Happy holidays. 🙂

    • Hello!! I am looking for any comfort I can find at this point. The last couple of weeks have been very stressful due to chaos at work and trying to fit in shopping and writing. Thanks for checking out this week’s six…I always enjoy yours!! 🙂 Happy Holidays!!

  5. I don’t have all my shopping done either yet. Getting close, but not quite there. I’m ready for the season to be over with too. I’m ready for a nap! lol The busier this season gets, the more I want to go stay at this little bed and breakfast. Vacation anyone? lol

    • I feel like a crazy person when it comes to Christmas shopping! I get off early on Friday, so I am hoping to finish at that time! I would love to find a tranquil escape right about now, that way everyone else can handle the hustle and bustle while I am relaxing with a good book! I hope you get your shopping done and are able to get some rest and relaxation!

    • I am looking for an escape! Lol Oh no, I hope your back gets better soon! Christmas really is a wonderful time of year, but it can also cause a nervous breakdown. I hope that you have a peaceful and enjoyable holiday! Thanks for checking out my six!

Leave a Reply

