Where Are You, Christmas?


The last several weeks have been pretty trying; stressing over this and that, preparing for the holidays, and witnessing the increasing needs of those around us.  As I sit here piecing together this post, my heart is breaking for so many reasons.  It is no secret that Christmas is a wonderful time of year, but it is also a time for hardship, depression, and loss.  Society shows Christmas as being filled with festive music, laughter, quality time with those we love, elaborate dinners, and gifts galore.  However, what many don’t realize is that behind those ‘jingle bells’ and ‘fa-la-la’s’ are some REAL problems!

I’ve noticed that this season is lacking some much needed SPIRIT!  As I was putting up my tree last week, I honestly tried everything that I could think of to get myself in that “old-fashioned Christmas spirit”.  I turned the television to ABC Family where Rudolph was prancing around the screen with his bright red nose shining in all of its glory.  Pandora radio was tuned to the holiday classics; Bing Crosby and Frank Sinatra being two of my favorites.  I felt nothing.  A feeling of emptiness devoured my being as I stood there among a beautifully decorated tree, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, and Frank Sinatra belting out “I’ll Be Home for Christmas”.

Feeling helpless from the lack of ‘joy’, I kept wondering if there will be an end to the ‘moody blues’?  So far, I have not had any breakthroughs.  With the first week of December almost behind us, I can only hope that the light at the end of the tunnel will eventually shine bright for anyone else who is feeling solemn for the holidays!

However, for now I will continue to wonder… “Where are you, Christmas?”

 

4 thoughts on “Where Are You, Christmas?

  1. I’m right there with you. There are so many People in need. I can’t pull myself out of this funk I’m in and get in the Christmas spirit. So I sing my song, ” we wish you a merry blah blah blah.”

  2. Last night I went driving around to see the Christmas lights while I played Christmas tunes on the radio. It helped. 🙂 I’m also trying this year to only purchase items that will go back into our local economy. So, instead of buying an iTunes card for my brother-in-law, I’m buying tickets to a local concert at a jazz club. It’s made me have to put more thought into what I’ll give and that has helped to buoy my mood. Plus, money’s tight this year, so I’m trying to stay away from all the things that I know I can’t afford to buy. . . .

    • That sounds good! I haven’t tried to drive around to look at the lights yet. Hmmm…I must try it. I like your idea of gift buying this year. It is not only economical, but unique! My money is also tight right now. I have had so many things go wrong with my house this year, it literally put a strain on my finances. I’ve decided to do baked good baskets this year. It is hard to go wrong with food! 😉

Leave a Reply

