Practicing Patience!


Hello Friends…

Within the last couple of weeks, I have found it very hard to put my pen to paper and write something inspiring.  In my head I have repeatedly gone over several ideas that have sparked my interest; but every time I start, it seems that my mind wonders to something completely different.  So, until the inspiration decides to set in again, I have decided to try a little ‘creative’ writing.  

Here lately, my husband and I have been doing a tremendous amount of work on our house.  First, let me say that I have noticed something new about myself:  I HAVE NO PATIENCE AT ALL!  It took us roughly three weeks to start and complete our laundry room, which to most people is probably pretty normal.  For me, however, it was the longest three weeks of my life!  In that time, though, I noticed an unpleasant side of myself that I am not proud of.  I am not sure if it was the anticipation of having a functioning laundry room or if it was sheer impatience; but one thing is for sure, I was not a happy person.  As each day had passed, my attitude was getting noticeably worse!  At the time, all I could see was work that was NOT getting done instead of all that had been accomplished.  I would come home everyday to a different mess that had filtered its way into the house and immediately begin to rant!  Now that I can reflect calmly on the situation, I can see that my actions were ridiculous! 

Even though I am not happy with myself for being such a rotten person, I am grateful that God showed me the error of my ways!  Ecclesiastes 7:9 opened my eyes to how I was acting:  “Be not quick in your spirit to become angry, for anger lodges in the bosom of fools.  I agree wholeheartedly with what that verse is saying.   At the end of the day, after I took a hard look at myself in the mirror is when I realized how out of line I really was.  It is great when you have something to look forward to; it tends to put a little spring in your step.  But, for someone to get mean spirited because things aren’t going their way is another thing.  My poor husband honestly worked himself to the bone on getting things done right and I really feel horrible for being so impatient with him.  When all is said and done, all that really matters is that you are happy with what you have.  There are many people out there who do not have even the most basic essentials to live on.  I am happy to say that after studying God’s word on having patience, the reality of being completely grateful for what I do have has kicked into overdrive.  I am truly blessed by the best and loving every minute of it! 

Galations 6:9

And let us not be weary in well-doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

God Bless!!

Leave a Reply

