Having Faith Through Fear…


Isaiah 41:10…

Fear thou not, for I am with thee: be no dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

Fear: a distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain, etc., whether the threat is real or imagined; the feeling or condition of being afraid. (Dictionary.com)

God’s words are soothing to the soul and you can always count on His advice no matter what dilemma you may face.  Fear, unfortunately, is something we all face from time to time.  Although fear is an emotional feeling, the end result can be physical as well.  Life is filled with various situations that place fear on our heart.  For instance, financial strain has always been a fear of mine; my mind likes to detour to the ‘what ifs’.  What if my husband or myself lose our job?  What if we incur unexpected expenses?  The questions I ask myself are very realistic; however, no matter how overwhelming our financial situation may get, I know that God will be there to get us through.

Isaiah 35:4…

Say to them that are of a fearful heart, be strong, fear not: behold, your God will come with vengeance, even God with a recompence; He will come and save you.

God is merciful on those who are honest in their ways and who try to live by His Word.  There have been times when I have thought about not paying my tithe just to be sure that we have enough to cover our normal payments; but I quickly change my mind because I know that God has been so gracious with our finances.  I had to ask why I would hold onto something that I have been blessed with when I could give to His ministry and watch it really work wonders!!  Praise God!!

Human instinct causes us to feel afraid; yet it takes real faith for us to see that we can overcome whatever it is we are facing.  Many issues will arise and it will bring about different levels of fear in our lives; however, I feel that some fear is good.  There are many situations in life that we should try to ‘veer’ away from; and sometimes I feel that being ‘afraid’ of something causes us to better ourselves.  We learn to look out for what is best for us and tend to see things differently than if we were unafraid and not cautious. 

2 Corinthians 5:7 states that we should “walk by faith and not by sight”.  If we place our trust into God’s hands he will most definitely guide us in the right direction.  Choosing to go our own way (using our sight) without God’s chosen path for us will only lead us into undesirable territory.  Fear may arise frequently and can become overwhelming, but the promises from God are so much more powerful than the menial obstacles thrown our way.

Faith should be our solid foundation used to keep us stable and focused on how we should overcome fearful situations.  Instinctively, our emotions tell us to ‘panic’, which most often causes irrational decision-making that will worsen the problem.  Of course, facing fear does not come easy and we may not always come out unscathed, but with every experience comes another lesson learned.  God instills in us HIS grace and HIS promise of never leaving, ensuring His love forever.  Our fear will falter when God’s hand is upon us and the devil will back down because he will have been defeated yet again.  A reasonable thing to do would be to take every ‘victory’ and use it to make a better YOU!  Having faith through fear is the only way to receive relief from the depths of your emotions.

I hope everyone has a BLESSED Easter…

Leave a Reply

