Soar Into a Healthy Self-Image…


What a beautiful day the Lord has made…I will rejoice and be glad in it!

Happy Wednesday my friends!

I awoke this morning to the sun shining bright through my window. It is most definitely a refreshing relief from the snow. The change in weather never ceases to amaze me because it just proves, once again, the power of our God. Weather, among many other things, show how intricate God’s creations really are.

Have you ever stopped long enough to look at a flower? Notice the individuality, no two are alike. From a distance they may look alike, but up close they differ greatly from one another. I believe that most of us can appreciate the ‘individual’ beauty that these creations have to offer. If this is true, then why can we not see the beauty in ourselves or even in others?

God created us through his own vision and perfection; he had an individual plan for each and every one of us. So, it is upsetting to Him when we talk down about what He has created. I will be the first to admit that I am very  guilty when it comes to having a low self-image.

1 Samuel 16:7 (King James Version)

 7But the LORD said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the LORD seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the LORD looketh on the heart.

I constantly find myself comparing the way I look to other women and their appearance. Whether it be my weight, hair, clothing, or accessories, I almost always find something ‘wrong’. When it comes to women and comparisons, there are endless possibilities.

God looks at our heart. He does not pay attention to the new outfit we are wearing, whether we have roots showing, or if our toenails match our fingernails. To Him, all that is considered ‘of the world‘ is very minuscule. God cares about our soul. His concern lies in how we treat others. We are to be witnesses to others while spreading his Word of love and compassion. He also expects us to treat ourselves respectfully. Our bodies are a temple; therefore, we should not be poisoning ourselves with harmful substances and using our bodies in a haphazard manner. God loves us for who we are not for the possessions we have.

Just remember that God’s love is unconditional, he will not leave or forsake us. (Hebrews 13:5) I guess that today’s passage is somewhat a continuation of yesterday’s “Icecubes and Insecurities”. Insecurity is based solely on self-esteem and self-worth.

Remember this: when you feel like you are burdened with the everyday pressures of life, you can always look to God for healing. The devil places certain people in our lives where their sole purpose is to try and tear us down and destroy our well being. I can honestly say that these obstacles have broken down my spirits and have made me feel very unsure about who I am. In the end, though, I see God’s grace and know he will guide me through my darker times.

Life is supposed to be filled with obstacles so we can learn by our trials and fears. But, God wants us to be happy and prosper and to also have a life of fulfillment.

My friends, even through the darkest times, there is a bright light of our Heavenly Father waiting to shine over us..

Leave a Reply

